Check in at the safe house

I am going to take a moment to pause from the aggressive forward momentum of our little physical prowess challenge and actually cover this whole ketosis business I keep casually mentioning. Believe me, there are very good reasons why I have been putting it off, namely it is difficult to dedicate the sheer amount of time it is going to take to write this all out in a cohesive manner when I have, oh, some international criminals to seduce and take down. All of this takes energy, you know.

Regardless, if I am going to tout my fat dominant ways as being my own personal holy grail, I figure I will need to explain myself at some point. Congratulations. You have reached that point.

Simply put, a ketogenic diet is a high fat, adequate protein, low carb approach to consumption that causes the body to deplete glycogen stores and instead utilize fatty acids as fuel. When in ketosis, the body will almost immediately convert fat into ATP (Adenosine triphosphate), and ketones (ketone bodies) are a natural byproduct. Some of these ketones (acetoacetate and ß-hydroxybutyrate) are utilized as energy––for instance the heart and the kidneys prefer ketones to glucose, and a brain on ketones is a healthy brain indeed. The ketone molecule acetone, however, can not be used by the body so is secreted out in urine and breath.

Thing to note: A dangerous condition called ketoacidosis can develop in those with type 1 diabetes, and it is sometimes confused with normal ketosis. The body usually avoids this state by producing insulin, but people with type 1 diabetes are unable to produce insulin. Even most people with type 2 diabetes who inject insulin usually produce enough insulin of their own to prevent ketoacidosis.

Now, there are a lot of resources that have beaten this particular horse to death, and so I will leave you with links to those resources as I am not in the practice of hanging around horses, dead or otherwise:

Ketogenic diets are, in a word, controversial. The idea of high fat diets goes against decades of nutritional science and public health agendas that are supported by the (fallacious) lipid hypothesis. I feel that my own experience with ketosis (improved energy levels, improved athletic performance, improved sleep, reduced body fat percentage) are enough to convince me that it is a worthwhile endeavor. If you disagree with these principles in such a way that you feel indignant and/or excessively angry please note that I really could not care less. I mean this in the kindest possible way. You understand, don’t you darlings? That whole time issue that I mentioned at the start is still applicable.

If you are new to this whole shebang and you are interested in getting started, I recommend beginning by using a keto calculator to calculate what your macros should be. There are an infinite number of resources online on how to most effectively get started.

Disclaimer: This is not a complete and comprehensive overview of everything that I bring into my personal training regiment. Provided I am not killed in a sting, or whisked away to infiltrate an international terrorist organization, you will probably get pieces to include in a more complete portrait over time. As with all things in my line of work, no guarantees.

Mission Objective:

Did you think I had forgotten? Silly, silly, Interwebs. I never forget.

Good night, and good luck. Smoochies, darlings.

Leave a Reply

